Skip to content

It’s gaining traction, and that’s not a good thing

July 20, 2009

Obama Derangement Syndrome? I love it!!!  Republicans, please don’t buy into ODS.  It will be your Waterloo.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 2:20 pm

    Given that all Obama has to do to end this – if it’s bogus – is produce the vaulted copy of his birth certificate, and yet he continuously refuses to do so, I’m forced to wonder about what is he hiding.

    When this started I thought it was stupid, petty, and bigoted, a bad joke by small people. Obama’s and the DNC’s continued non-response has changed my mind. I now believe that there must be something that Obama is hiding.

    • Matthew Wright permalink*
      July 20, 2009 2:48 pm

      He has. Do you think he would be president now if his birth certificate wasn’t authentic? Don’t you think he would have been exposed during the campaign by Clinton or McCain? Come on. It’s another lame attempt at defamation, just like the Muslim thing and the terrorist thing.

  2. July 20, 2009 3:49 pm

    Obama has never addressed the situation at all, except to have court cases dismissed do to the plaintiffs’ supposed “lack of standing.” He has never shown, to my knowledge at least, his hospital-issued long form birth certificate, which would end this crap et al.

    Why is that?

    In point of fact, McCain was hit with the same demands and immediately handed his over and allowed Congress itself to determine if he was eligible.

    As I said before, I first felt as you do – and still mostly believe that he’s a natural-born US citizen – but Obama’s responses to this issue make me wonder…

    • Matthew Wright permalink*
      July 20, 2009 4:01 pm

      Perhaps he doesn’t consider this anything more than fringe elements indulging in conspiratorial pursuits. Most presidents have to deal with them in some form or fashion. I equate this to W having to deal with the 9-11 conspiracy theorists who believe that his administration was responsible for the attack. I don’t think Bush responded to them did he? It’s all ludicrous. We have much more to worry about this this non-story. You are going to have a bunch of people who, no matter what Obama does, aren’t going to believe him anyway because they hate him. The irrational and deluded? You will never get me in their corner.

      • July 20, 2009 4:08 pm

        Multiple lawsuits actually being heard in federal courts is a bit beyond just fringe conspiracy theorists, don’t you think?

        And remember:

        You are going to have a bunch of people who, no matter what Obama does, aren’t going to believe him capable of wrongdoing anyway because they love him. The irrational and deluded? You will never get me in their corner.

  3. Matthew Wright permalink*
    July 20, 2009 5:08 pm

    Actually I don’t. Lunatics file lawsuits all of the time. That doesn’t vindicate their cause one bit. How they choose to waste their time is their business. At some point though, after each and every dismissal, you should stop to consider that your cause is a hollow one.

    Touche’. I guess we will agree to disagree.

    Just for the record, I don’t believe that anyone is incapable of wrong-doing.

    • July 21, 2009 6:29 am

      Matthew,

      If the bulk of the lawsuits had been dismissed, I would shake my head at the wing-nuts right alongside of you. But most of those cases were heard instead of being summarily dismissed as frivolous. They were only dismissed after Obama’s and the DNC’s lawyers had them dismissed on the grounds that normal American citizens didn’t have the legal standing to demand proof of Obama’s birth status. (WTF?)

      For me it is only Obama’s responses to this that raise questions in my mind.

  4. Matthew Wright permalink*
    July 21, 2009 7:57 am

    Jonolan,

    After all of our back and forth, I will agree with you on your main point here: As undignified as it seems to me, maybe the administration should try a different tact in diffusing this situation. Perhaps they should address this to put it to bed. I’m still of the opinion that this is a non-story, and that’s why you have the responses you have coming out of the white house. Having said all that, I still don’t think that will be the end of this story. I think people will manage to find something about the president’s response that they don’t like.

Leave a Reply

